I'm a member of a municipal golf course. Arriving at the course on a very cloudy day (with rain forecasted) I noticed the flag was not flying from the pole ...
    hoffedge is offline Junior Member

Default Displaying Flag in Rain or Snow

I'm a member of a municipal golf course. Arriving at the course on a very cloudy day (with rain forecasted) I noticed the flag was not flying from the pole outside the clubhouse. I asked one of the staff "why not" and was told (verbatim quote): "I'm an ex-marine and in the Marines we don't fly the flag when it looks like rain." As a Vietnam army veteran I was appalled by his response. I know we flew the flag in all weather during my years in the service. Comments?

Robin Hickman is offline Senior Member

Default Re: Displaying Flag in Rain or Snow

Greetings, Hoffedge !

Welcome to the USA-Flag-Site forums !

Hmmmm..... To Fly... or not to fly... THAT is the question !!!

Believe it or not, this question seems to keep popping up every once in a while. In fact, this is the second time it's shown up in the past week or so.

Here's a link to the first one from back on May 15th. There were a couple of replies. Hopefully, it will help settle the question in your mind. As far as flying the Flag when it's raining, to ME the "operative" term is the phrase, "Inclement Weather" and how you (or anyone else) may interpret it.

http://www.usa-flag-site.org/forum/fly-or-not-fly-when-raining-5589.html#post15467

Let us know what YOU think, okay ???

Thank You for bringing your question to our forums !!!

Robin Hickman
    "All That Is Needed For Evil To Triumph Is For Good People To Stand By And Do Nothing"

hoffedge is offline Junior Member