28 or 31 Star Oversized Flag Needed

Discussion in 'Flag Identification and Collecting' started by Laly G.M., Aug 12, 2011.

1. Laly G.M.

Laly G.M. New Member

Hello. Hope this posting goes through, since I am new to this. I am looking for a U.S. 28 or 31 star flag (an original is what I need). The size needs to be approximately 10 feet wide to decorate a wall of a building where I work. (I already have a 45 star flag that measures 8' x 12' and getting another oversized flag would look perfect to have a pair with great historical meaning). I am not having any luck finding these on Ebay, Craigslist, several antique places websites, etc. If anyone has any suggestions on where I can look or whom I can call, I would greatly appreciated your help. Thank you. -Laly G.M.

2. NAVA1974

NAVA1974 Active Member

I have been colleccting antique American flags for 40 years and I have the only 28-star flag I ever saw for sale. It is less than 5 feet long. 31 star flags are just about as rare, and I have never seen one of the size you are seeking.

The only recommendation I have is to contact Jeff Bridgman at Jeff Bridgman American Antiques and Antique American Flags Jeff has had a couple of small 31-star flags recently. He also has contacts in the antiques business and if a large one is available you may be able to buy one for $15,000 or so. They are rare, indeed. On the other hand, collectors seeking large flags are even rarer - good luck.

Nick A
    Columbia, Maryland

3. csaanv

csaanv Member

The reason you are having a hard time is those are very rare flags which could cost several thousands of dollars even if you could find the size you want. Antique flag dealer Jeff Bridgman would your best bet if money is not an object. I think having reproductions made would be a much cheaper option. We are talking a few hundred as oppose to several thousand. Good luck!

4. Laly G.M.

Laly G.M. New Member