34 star flag questions??

Discussion in 'Flag Identification and Collecting' started by nkcsweetie, Aug 8, 2011.

1. nkcsweetie

nkcsweetie New Member

i'm new at this i'm thinking my first posting didn't make it :) but i just ran across this flag in the mtns of NC, i had to get it, i'm not a collector but thought it was cool to find, it's a huge flag 14ft x 8ft, so displaying it will be hard, so i have no clue on what to do with it. my question is where did this flag come from and how was it used?? it has a name "cushman" written on it, please any information would help, hoping it was a good find...thanks Pictures by nkcsweetie - Photobucket

2. NAVA1974

NAVA1974 Active Member

Welcome to the USA Flag Forum, and thanks for posting the picture.

North Carolina is an odd place to find such a large Yankee flag! I own a 34-star flag that measures 15ft x 23ft and it was flown from a yacht owned by a wealthy New Englander. Your flag has a heading and grommets (hand worked) that generally indicate use on land. (Flags on ships usually had a rope sewn into the heading.) It looks like a professionally made flag that may have been used in the early days of the secession debate but was quietly put away after NC seceded from the Union. Unless you can find a local connection to that name on the heading, your flag is just one of thousands made during the Civil War to honor the good ole USA.

May I ask how much you had to pay for that flag?

Nick A
    Columbia MD

3. nkcsweetie

nkcsweetie New Member

THanks....I paid $250 for the flag, don't know if that was a little to much. I've always been interested in the civil war era so i couldn't leave it, LOL....The guy I bought it from told me he bought it from a school auction near little switzerland NC around 1960, the school would get some items from Philadelphia PA. There is some other writing near the the cushman name but i can't seem to make it out. I would love to know the value of the flag. Thanks again for helping :)