41 Star Flag

Discussion in 'Flag Identification and Collecting' started by David77, Jul 14, 2018.

Tags:
  1. David77

David77 New Member

8DB55139-4E53-4BDE-9332-FBDB0DD908DC.jpeg View attachment 2235 Hi. I just discovered this forum recently. I have a 41 star cotton flag I inherited many years ago from my grandfather. It’s about 16” x 25”. It was in a cherry wood frame against glass for a long time and it’s faded in the front but brighter on the back. See photos. I know it’s considered extremely rare. Wondering if anyone has an idea if it’s value? Thanks!

2. FoxValleyMike

FoxValleyMike Member

I'm no expert but a quick google search indicates that a 41 star count was never an official flag and is an extremely rare flag to have.

I found this on firstdibs.com (an auction site I believe so take the below with a grain or two of salt):

41 was never an official star count. There were many flags produced with unofficial star counts, but this one was accurate for just three days and is extremely rare.

On November 2nd of 1889, the Dakotas became the 39th and 40th states. Six days later, on November 8th, Montana entered as the 41st state. And just three days following, on November 11th, Washington became the 42nd state. Flag makers had been producing 38 and 39 star flags in anticipation of the addition of the Dakota territory, either as one or as two separate states. They passed over the 40 and 41 star counts, however, since 4 states were unexpectedly added during this 9 day period and there was virtually no reason to make flags with these counts. Celebrations would have taken place in the respective states upon their addition, however, and also possibly at the nation's capital. Some of the 40 and 41 star flags may likely have been produced for these events.