42 star flag made by annin with defiance cotton bunting

Discussion in 'Flag Identification and Collecting' started by danacrull, Oct 8, 2013.

1. danacrull

danacrull New Member

I have acquired a 42 star flag made by Annin, Defiance cotton bunting on the sewn on label. The question about the office is "is it a authentic period flag"? It has machine stitching for the stars, white material on both sides. The size is 5' x about 7', it is torn badly on the end from being flown. It has brass grommets. How can I determine if it is vintage or a much later production of the 42 star flag?

This is my first time on a forum, please bear with me.

Thanks,
    Dana

2. csaanv

csaanv Member

Hi Dana and welcome!
    A 42 star flag is indeed a rare bird as officially the flag went from 38 to 43 in 1890 with five states joining the Union in 1889. Washington become a state on November 11, 1889 as the 42nd star. While Annin was in business during that time it is unlikely that your flag was made during that period. I don't believe (I could be wrong) Annin was sewing on their label on flags and using Defiance cotton during that time. Most flags of that size were made of wool bunting not cotton. It is most likely a special made flag to celebrate the 50th or 75th anniversary of the state maybe? With all that said anything is possible so I would not rule it totally out. Is there anyway you could post photos of your flag and especially of the label and a star? There was a certain way they stitched the star during that period and that can tell us exactly if it is period or not. This would help us nail down the date better. If you go to Advanced button under the reply window and select the paper clip icon it will step you through the process or if you care to email me the photos at emmalpass(at)yahoo(dot)com I can do it for you.
    Cheers,
    mike

3. AmericaHurrah

AmericaHurrah Member