Artist flag collector

Discussion in 'Flag Identification and Collecting' started by Valerie Couch, Feb 7, 2009.

1. Valerie Couch

Valerie Couch New Member

I am writing this email because I am a student looking for people, producers, or companies of American flags that would be willing to donate flags for the purpose of my pursuit of displaying them as a part of a body of work that I am currently in the process of. I am a senior painting major at the Maine college of art, as well as a local artist in the Portland area; and am currently forming a body of work that involves themes of politics, nationalism, patriotism, and international relations. I have very carefully chosen to work with the American flag to convey these things, as I feel that it is it’s honor to exemplify all of these things, as well as serve as a symbol of the unity, freedom, and history of our country, and our privilege to be able to view it and fly it.
    Since the beginning of my fascination with the flag began, I have fully explored it’s history. I am not sure that it is very widely known to the public of what the actual symbolism means, for example that the colors are each symbols: the red for the blood of the English ex-patriots who broke off from England in the Revolutionary War, the Blue with white stars for heaven and God above us, and the white for peace. I have thoroughly researched its making, how it has changed design over the years, and how they are made today. I have fully explored all codes and regulations that I was able involving the American flag. My research also extends to how the flag has been presented in our society, how it is seen by the people, what kind of context it has in different situations, and what sort of function it has in relation to different people and cultures. I have realized that many in other cultures, as well as our own, view it as a negative image.