Civil war flag... with 46 stars

Discussion in 'Flag Identification and Collecting' started by Carolynn, May 2, 2017.

1. Carolynn

Carolynn New Member

[​IMG]

We are a small museum and as we put up this flag we noticed some extra stars. What we know about this flag is that it was presented to James Madison Denison by Company B of the 20th Regiment Volunteer Infantry of the State of Iowa when he was presented from First Lieutenant to the Caption of the Regiments. He joined the Union army August 25th, 1862, and was discharged on July 6th, 1865.
    What we can't answer is why it has 46 stars.
    Any ideas? It looks like a battle flag?
    Any information would be helpful.

2. Robin Hickman

Robin Hickman Well-Known Member

Greetings, Carolyn!

I am NOT an expert when it comes to "vintage" or "antique" U.S. Flags. Most of what I know about Flags I've learned in these USA-FLAG-SITE Forums!

In all probability, the Flag in question was a "presentation" Flag that was presented to James Madison Denison during a "reunion" of some kind. A reunion of the men in the Unit itself, or maybe a reunion of the Grand Army of the Republic (G.A.R.). The U.S. Flag officially had 46 Stars from July 4th, 1907 to July 3rd, 1912. Two more Stars were added to the Flag on July 4th, 1912 for New Mexico (47th State) and Arizona (48th State).

The 50th Anniversary of the American Civil War would have been between 1911 and 1915.