FLAG: An American Boigraphy by Marc Leepson

Discussion in 'Flag Books and Media' started by PRGringo, Sep 10, 2008.

1. PRGringo

PRGringo Member

FLAG: An American Biography by Marc Leepson
    Thomas Dunne Books, St.Martin’s Press, New York, 2005
    334 pages

Let me begin by saying that I am not a professional book critic and have never written a book myself.

I purchased this book without any prior knowledge or recommendation. I was impressed by the dust jacket (a flag) and was not really certain what I was going to be reading. Would it be just dates and pictures with a little descriptive text? An uninformative rehashing of things I already knew. Or, would it educate my and enhance my knowledge about the American flag and its history?

I am glad to say that it increased my knowledge about the flag and its history.

I enjoyed the book, especially chapters 5 & 6, which deal with the war of 1812 and the period leading up to the Civil War. A time in American history that I will admit some weakness.

The book improved my knowledge of some of the “backgroundâ€￾ events during that time and helped me understand the attitude of Americans toward the flag during this period.

I was a little apprehensive about how the latter part of the 20th century would be presented. This was my time in history as well and I wanted to see how the author would present the tumultuous era during the Vietnam War. I felt the presentation was balanced, to my relief.

In all I think the book was a good read. I learned something, which is what I hope I will do with any non-fiction book that I read.

I would give it a 4 out of 5. (I would have given it a 5 had it included more reference information such as flag etiquette. It would be nice to have everything I wanted to know in one place.)

2. 25thStar

25thStar New Member

I got a 1st edition copy of Mr. Leepson's book as well and after reading it, I sent it to him for an autograph, which he did.

3. fast1

fast1 Member