Help needed - 36 star great star flag

Discussion in 'Flag Identification and Collecting' started by qbertman, Feb 1, 2011.

1. qbertman

qbertman New Member

I just recently purchased a 36 star great star on eBay, and was looking to see if one of the experts on here could help me verify authenticity.

Everything looks kosher to me. It has single appliqued stars and is entirely hand sewn. It also contains the name h.r. Jennings on the hoist and has a souvenir removed from the bottom red stripe. However, I would feel Much better if someone with more experience could verify my thoughts before I complete this purchase. Below is the link to the flag. Thanks in advance.

Nicholas

ANTIQUE 36 STAR FLAG CIVIL WAR ERA C. 1865 - eBay (item 320650872789 end time Jan-31-11 17:40:59 PST)

2. csaanv

csaanv Member

Hi qbertman,
    I am by no means an expert and I am sure the others with more knowledge will have some comments besides mine. However, metal grommets were not common during the CW period, they were usually hand sewn. Maybe they were added later on? I admire the nice work with the stars, very tight and neat.

3. Robin Hickman

Robin Hickman Well-Known Member

Hello, Nicholas (Qbertman). Welcome to the USA-Flag-Site Forums! :D

I am NO "Flag Expert" (and I don't play one on TV!), but I agree with CSAANV. I don't think metal grommets were used by flagmakers during that time period. Perhaps the Flag was made for the 25th Anniversary of the end of the Civil War in 1890? Or maybe for an annual G.A.R. (Grand Army of the Republic) reunion encampment between, say, 1885 and 1940?