Just Don't Call Me "Betsy"

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Flag Discussion' started by PRGringo, Dec 17, 2011.

1. PRGringo

PRGringo Member

It finally dawned on me that the most practical and economical solution to get the flags that I wanted for my collection was to make them! I have no experience but I can make things so I figured I can learn.

First of all, Acupuncture mast have been discovered by people who sew.

I set up my sewing center.

[​IMG]

It looks easier than it is and my first flag will be purely for practice. I will give it to my wife to tea-stain. She says that will make it a "primitive". It is "primitive", even without the staining.

But, my technique is improving and the next one will be better. Here is what I have so far.

[​IMG]

I am working on the stars. It will be a 21 star flag. I will post more pics as I go along.

2. csaanv

csaanv Member

Great job PRGringo! You are inspiring me to give it a try. I have fixed many flags but never tried to make one from scratch.
    mm

3. PRGringo

PRGringo Member

Thanks! It is a challenge but I love a challenge like this.

I finished appliqueing the stars today. Tomorrow I will cut out the excess around each star on both sides of the field.

[​IMG]

I used a tight zig-zag stitch to fasten each star.

[​IMG]

4. csaanv

csaanv Member

It looks like cotton. Did you get it from a fabric store?

5. PRGringo

PRGringo Member

It is 100% cotton. I wanted to use cotton as it was what they would have used way back when.

I found the fabric at JoAnn's Fabrics and washed the red and the blue fabric to eliminate bleeding. I threw a 1/4 cup of white vinegar in the wash to help set the color.

The thread I am using is rated for outdoor use. I believe it is a cotton/poly blend.

I also am trying a "clear thread to sew the alternating stripes. I will let you know how it turned out as I am about to sew the field to the top 7 stripes.

6. PRGringo

PRGringo Member