Newbie here: 48 Star flag ID & question

Discussion in 'Flag Identification and Collecting' started by 48'roldone, Oct 13, 2008.

1. 48'roldone

48'roldone New Member

HI All,

I've learned some interesting things on this site already!
    This flag was given to me by a friend at their garage sale.
    (I'll try to find out more background on it from them)

My questions regard a 48 star flag made by Dettras; Bull Dog Bunting; 2 Ply Warp and Filling; size: 5' X 9.5'

I've attached 3 pics ... hope they come out...

Has 2 brass grommets
    I'm curious about the star sewn on a "patch" near the upper corner near the gromet - but I noticed that the bottom also has a red "patch" sewn on the red stripe near the bottom grommet.

Questions:
    1) Is there any way to tell when this was made?
    2) I understand there are lots of these available, but any way to tell it's worth?
    - hard to tell about it's former use - doubt that it was flown - looks like it's always been folded.
    - no fading, but there is some stain on the white left grommet canvas border.
    3) Regarding the stains - what's the best way of dealing with them?
    - they almost look like they're sort of rust stains.
    - none of the stars or stripes are stained

Thanks for any ideas you may have...
    Peace,
    Gord

Attached Files:

2. PRGringo

PRGringo Member

I know a little about the Dettra Company. It was founded in 1901 and no longer exists. It was bought by Annin and Company in 1998.

The "Bull Dog" brand was first used in 1911 to identify their top of the line cotton flag.

They had 5 other brand designations: (I am not sure of the order or significance) Sentry, Lustro, Everwear, Ever Wave and D-Brite.

Your flag is at least 49 years old.

That's about all I can contribute.

3. coasterville

coasterville Member