Proper flag name

Discussion in 'Flag Identification and Collecting' started by jimmiejoe, Apr 27, 2011.

1. jimmiejoe

jimmiejoe New Member

What is the proper name for this flag? Parade? It is part of a display so want to get it right!! It is 7-1/2" X 9-1/2". Check attachment for Pic

Attached Files:

2. Robin Hickman

Robin Hickman Well-Known Member

Hello, JimmieJoe! :D

QUOTE : "What is the proper name for this flag?"

Good Question !!! :eek:

I'm NOT an "expert" in these kinds of things, so I can tell you honestly that I really don't know. But..... there ARE some clues as to what it might be. Maybe we can make some "educated" guesses as to what the Flag's purpose and use was?

Just remember, I am NOT an expert! ;)

First of all, it's a 45-Star Flag. The 45-Star Flag was "official" from 1896 to 1908. With the Spanish-American War in 1898 and the "turn of the century" in 1900, it was quite an exciting (and patriotic) time. Lots of parades and lots of "flag waving". Another cause for celebration was the "Louisiana Purchase Exposition" (St. Louis World's Fair) AND the Olympic Games held in St. Louis, Missouri in 1904! So maybe it was some kind of patriotic "SOUVENIR"?

Secondly, is its size: 7.5" x 9.5". To me, its relatively "small" size would make it more of a "personal-sized" Flag. Perhaps it was at one time attached to a stick or staff (flagpole).

Thirdly, the yellow (or gold) fringe around the three outside edges is a "step up" from "regular" Flags of the day. Maybe it was a "desk" or fireplace mantle Flag, or pehaps a momento from a fraternal or veterans organization like the G.A.R. or V.F.W.? Maybe it was part of an elaborate toy soldiers set-up (Some of those could be QUITE elaborate!)? Maybe it was made for a political convention of some kind (1896, 1900, 1904, and 1908)?