Properly Folded Flag

Discussion in 'Other US Flag Etiquette' started by EmailPoster, Jun 6, 2006.

1. EmailPoster

EmailPoster New Member

Should 13 full stars be showing when properly folded and displayed ....

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 6, 2006
  2. sarahw

sarahw Guest

Shawn,

The number of stars showing doesn't really matter. It would be nice for the sake of symbolism if 13 stars always showed when you folded up a flag, but it simply doesn't work out that way. As long as you fold it in the proper way, with two horizontal folds and 11 folds to make the triangle, you've done it right, no matter how many stars are showing.

Thanks for asking!

Sarah

3. panmunjomi

panmunjomi New Member

Four stars should show, one star representing each of the four services; Army, Navy, Air Force and Marines. I've been folding flags for about 24 years, I can never get less that six stars to show so maybe we can add "Reserves and Coast Guard" to the list.

Also, the three corners of the folded flag are said to represent the three branches of the government; Executive, Judicial and Legislative.

One thing to note, only the American flag is (supposed to be) folded in this manner, all other flags are simply folded into a square.

4. How many stars show varies, depending on the size and spacing of the stars.. some times with (badly made) flags the stars are all bunched up together and leaving a huge gap on one or more sides of the blue field

It also depends on the size of the flag too, cos you get flags with different proportions and ratios, with longer or shorter cantons, and a 3x5 ft flag will fold different to a 5x 9.5 ft one

The thickness of the material can also have an effect on the finished result.

Looking at the flag in the casE i have over by the window - the same as in the little picture shown with my name - I see 4 stars.. These are fairly large appliquéd stars and well spaced. The other side of the flag shows 6 stars.

5. flagnazi

flagnazi Member