State Flag over U.S. Flag

Discussion in 'US Flag Display' started by pcg222222, Sep 16, 2008.

1. pcg222222

pcg222222 New Member

I am a resident of Indiana and have flown the U.S. flag in front of my house almost immediantly after it was built (and have served under it as well). I am considering flying my state flag above the U.S. flag in the event that Barrack Obama wins the presidency. I'm not doing it out of mere spite, I genuinely feel that if most of America thinks that people like Obama and liberals in general make this country, (or have made this country), what it is today; then I have a valid disconnect from them.

I will continue to fly the U.S. flag for what it means to me, but am starting to feel a stronger, prouder connection to my great state and its people. The meaning of the flag as a symbol for our country is steadily being eroded by many who think we need to change into something we were never intended to be. I simply will not go along.

As I understand it, after doing research, the U.S. Flag Code, as wonderful as an idea as it was, is only a guideline. Is this correct? Are there any enforceable laws or statutes, state or federal, that would legally require me to return the U.S. Flag atop?

The way I see it, if the U.S. Supreme Court can conclude that "flag burning" is constitutionally protected under the 1st amendment; then I can't imagine simply flying it under the my state flag would not be.

Please advise....

Thank you,

J.M.

2. PRGringo

PRGringo Member

I don't think that it is illegal to fly the sate flag over the US flag. It may get you some negative comments from neighbors and passers by, however.

I personally believe that the flag should not be used as a political statement. I believe it dishonors those who died for it and it erodes the idea that the flag represents every American, whether they are liberal, conserative, green orange or whatever.