Washington Bunting Wool Flag

Discussion in 'Flag Identification and Collecting' started by Clarissa Gunn, Apr 4, 2017.

1. Clarissa Gunn

Clarissa Gunn New Member

I have a flag question. I know this threads old, but i hope someone sees it. I got a flag from a thriftstore. It is made of wool. The tag says "Washington Bunting wool" I dont care about a value. But would like an age.. and maybe an idea of what it was used for.. I thought a castket flag. But it has loops going up the side. Making me think it flew.

2. Robin Hickman

Robin Hickman Well-Known Member

Greetings, Clarissa Gunn!

Welcome to the USA-FLAG-SITE Forums!

Please NOTE: I am NOT an expert on "historical" Flag fabrics! Most of what I've learned about Flags, especially US/American Flags, I've learned here.

My understanding about American Flags made of wool is that historically wool was generally the "fabric of choice" for Flags made before World War 2 and a few years after. During the War, wool was "rationed" for civilians because it was considered necessary for the "War Effort". Most of the Flags that were made during the War were primarily for use by the Government & Armed Forces. However, as the War continued, cotton slowly became the Flag "fabric of choice" as it was easier to obtain. Most of the "post war" Flags were made of cotton right up to the 1960's & 1970's. Although nylon had been invented & patented in the 1930's, it wasn't used for Flags until the late 1950's, early 1960's. It's popularity grew as folks realized that nylon Flags lasted a LOT longer than cotton ones. In the 1990's (1994?), the Dupont Company developed an improved nylon for use in outdoor products (awnings, tents, etc.), including Flags. It was more UV ray resistant and the dyed colors didn't fade quite as fast. It is known by the trade name as "SolarMax".