Where is the oldest authentic 13-star and stripes flag?

Discussion in 'American Flag History' started by NAVA1974, May 5, 2009.

1. NAVA1974

NAVA1974 Active Member

I have been collecting flags for nearly 40 years now and have never ever seen a 13-star, 13-stripe flag conforming to The Flag Resolution that could positively be identified with the time period 1777-1795 when they were the official flag of the United States of America. The silken Schuyler flag, and the wool bunting Brandywine flag, both in Philly, are probably 18th C vintage, but the Schuyler flag is of the eagle-in-the-canton design and the shield has 16 stripes, if I recall correctly, dating it to the late 1790's, and the Brandywine flag is red with a red/white stars and stripes canton. The Commonwealth of Massachusetts has the "Fort Independence Flag" in the 4-5-4 star pattern that they claim flew over the fort in the early days of our country's independence, but it is the size of a US Navy Boat flag of the mid 19th C, and I wouldn't bet my reputation on it's being an 18th c relic. The New London, CT, historical society has a silk 13 star flag but there's no provenance showing it existed in the 18th C.

I am fortunate to own a half-dozen antique 13 star flags myself, but the oldest is clearly no earlier than the 1840's time frame. So, my challenge to the USA flags forum: Where is the oldest USA flag in existence? (the oldest flag IN THE USA in existence is probably the Bedford flag, supposedly carried at the battle of Concord on 19 April 1775, but it was a militia flag and not a stars and stripes.)

2. Robin Hickman

Robin Hickman Well-Known Member

A quick Google search for, "Oldest American Flag", brought up an interesting Google Books result for Page 33 of the book, "Stars & Stripes Forever: The History, Stories, and Memories of Our American Flag" By Richard H. Schneider, Dick Schneider.